Wildlife - Kangaroos

Make an Enquiry with Outback Encounter


Sign up for our Newsletter



Receive a copy of our
latest Brochure


Tell a friend about
Outback Encounter


Buy our




The kangaroo is an Australian icon: it is featured on the Australian coat of arms, on some of its currency, and is used by many Australian organisations, including Qantas.

Kangaroos have large, powerful hind legs, large feet adapted for leaping, a long muscular tail for balance, and a small head. Like all marsupials, female kangaroos have a pouch called a marsupium in which joeys complete postnatal development.

A marsupial from the family Macropodidae (macropods, meaning 'large foot'), Kangaroos are endemic to the continent of Australia, while the smaller macropods are found in Australia and New Guinea.There are three major species of kangaroos in Australia; the Red Kangaroo (the the largest marsupial in the world), the Western Grey kangaroo and Eastern Grey Kangaroos (the heaviest marsupial in the world).

Besides these three varieties, Australia also has three other varieties of kangaroos. The antilopine kangaroos can be found in the Monsoon regions of Northern Australia in the grassy Eucalyptus woodlands. The Euro group is the most widespread variety of kangaroos and can be found in all parts of the country. Black Wallaroo is found in the central and western part of Northern Territory where there are lots of woodlands, shrub cover and monsoon forests for safe refuge.